Add: 108-110 Tumen Street, Licheng District, Quanzhou
Other Names: Quanzhou Ashab Mosque, Quanzhou Shengyou Mosque
Name & Address in Chinese: 清净寺，福建省泉州市区涂门街108-110
How to Get to Quanzhou Qingjing Mosque
By Bus: Bus No. 4, 6, 7, 14, 33 or 49, get off at Guandimiao Station
By Subway: Line 3, get off at Houcun Station
Quanzhou Qingjing Mosque (Mosque of Purity) is one of the four major mosques along the coastal area of Southeast China. It is also called the Shengyou Mosque (Mosque of the Holy Friend), Ashab Mosque (Mosque of the Prophet’s Companions) or the Qilin Mosque.
There is a stone tablet inside Quanzhou Qingjing Mosque with Arabic annals that records that this mosque was established in 1009 during the Song Dynasty (960-1279). In the following centuries, some famous Islamic celebrities rebuilt Quanzhou Qingjing Mosque several times.
Quanzhou Qingjing Mosque mainly consists of the Gate Tower, the Prayer Hall, and the Mingshan Hall. The Gate Tower, which is made of green granites, is connected with the Prayer Hall. The minaret is on the top of the Gate Tower. A five-storied pagoda was built on the platform during the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644), but was destroyed by earthquake later. The prayer room has two stories. The wall inside the prayer room is made of granites and is embedded with two stones carved with the Quran. The Mingshan Hall is in the north of the Prayer Hall and was built in 1609. The mosque is a good example of how Islamic architecture can be combined with traditional Chinese architecture.